Ladies be careful when out on your own!

Dubai is generally a safe place, it has a very low crime rate mainly due to the harsh punishment that is a part of UAE legislation. And you can walk around on your own as a woman and generally feel safe in public areas. This is a very nocturnal City so you will find a lot of people stay out very late, so you are unlikely to be walking around in secluded areas if you are around places like Marina, Downtown areas & Sheikh Zayed Road (I haven’t had experience with other areas) at most times of the day up till midnight. However there is something that I have experienced in my short time here that has been concerning, I have been followed around on three separate occasions by Indian men, followed to the point of stalking in these very public places. These have been at various times but usually after sundown, though these men haven’t approached me personally I did have to confront one of them after I was followed to an outdoor restaurant and saw that the same man had waited outside, circled the perimeter of the restaurant for an hour until I came out and then followed me after and waited as I went to the toilets!

So if you are out on your own in Dubai just be alert, there is no need to be concerned as there is plenty of security out in the main tourist areas and if you feel you are being followed it is always best to alert the security and let them deal with it for you. Stay Safe x

2 thoughts on “Ladies be careful when out on your own!

  1. I have heard so many stories like that and even my friend here in Abu Dhabi have experienced that in Dubai. Yes better scream for Police and don’t be shy to make a scene to be safe.

    Like

Leave a comment